Welcome to Gen Y Finance Guy!

I chose the name “Gen Y Finance Guy” for three reasons:
(1) I was born in 1986 which makes me a member of Generation Y
(Fun Fact: they also refer to us as the Millennial’s
and there are 80M of us)
(2) Finance is my obsession
(3) Finally, I’m a dude!


My Mission:
To Humanize Finance, Build Wealth, and Reach Financial Freedom!

Hey, I’m Dom. You’ll notice that I sign off as Gen Y Finance Guy on all my posts, due to the fact that I write this blog with anonymity (at least for now). I like to think of myself as the Chief Freedom Officer here on my little corner of the internet. In the real world, I’m a 30-year-old C-Suite executive. After becoming a die-hard believer and evangelist of the Slight Edge Philosophy, I wrote a 10-year vision for my life, and I’m well ahead of schedule at the halfway check point. I’m married to the wonderful Mrs. GYFG and we’re currently enjoying the benefits of the DINK lifestyle (Dual Income No Kids), which has had a massively positive impact on our careers and ability to build wealth rapidly.

This blog is just as much about my journey as it is about yours. As you read above, I am trying to humanize finance by sharing my own journey to FINANCIAL FREEDOM. I believe in total HONESTY and TRANSPARENCY. That is why before I ever started blogging, I decided that I would share all of my own financial stats. I do this not to brag, but instead to INSPIRE, MOTIVATE, and to hold myself accountable.

My sincere hope is that you will be able to learn from my successes and my failures!

On this blog, you will see real life stories from real people (me and the guests I host). I’m not going to tell you to do something I wouldn’t or haven’t done with my own money. I don’t expect to change the world, but if I could change just one person’s life, that would be enough.

I personally have a goal to have my mortgage paid off before I am 35 years old. Outside of the mortgage debt on my primary residence and investment condo, I’m debt free. Starting in 2015 I put a plan in action to pay off the mortgage on my primary residence in 7 years. My big hairy audacious goal is to build a net worth of $10M by the time I am 48 (you can keep track here).

Those are the two primary financial goals I have. And this blog (born on September 25, 2014) will be the vehicle in which I share my own journey of success, failures, and ah-ha moments. I hope you, the reader, might find what I write both interesting and useful in your own endeavors to reach your financial goals. I also hope to learn a thing or two from my readers along the way (because you are a wicked smart group of people).

Bullet point version about me:

  • I was born in 1986
  • I grew up on welfare
  • My parents were drug addicts
  • My dad spent 10 years of his life in prison for participating in the Meth Business
  • I got in a lot of trouble until half way through 6th grade
  • Statistically, I should be in prison and on drugs

A lot of other things happened between when I was born and my next bullet point and you can read more about it here.

  • I went to live with my grandparents in the 8th grade (best move ever, lucky again)
  • I learned as much as I could from my grandfather who was a great man (he served his country and was a POW for 5 years)
  • I sold candy out of a shoe box to make extra money in high school (it’s probably no surprise that I made $60-$80/day)
  • I graduated high school even though neither of my parents did (and with honors)
  • I have been lucky as hell
  • I have 4 brothers (I’m the Oldest)
  • I used to fold pizza boxes for free pizza and soda in middle school (and got a little chubby because of it)
  • I lived with the owner of the pizza place and his family for a year (they saved my life and I will never forget it, I feel LUCKY every day)
  • I earned my degree in Finance from Cal-State Fullerton and graduated in 2008 (again with honors)
  • I worked in corporate finance for a private 3rd generation family owned oil company during my first 3 years out of school (where I had the best boss ever)
  • I traded professionally for the same oil company for 2 additional years (oil related products)
  • I left the oil company and joined a public company in the action sports industry going back into corporate finance
  • I left corporate finance again to start a new global analytics team to support a $100M e-commerce business (I learned a lot, but it didn’t work out)
  • I started a consulting business based on what I learned about digital marketing and analytics preparing for the gig above (it was successful)
  • I left the action sports industry to go back into corporate finance (where I currently work)
  • I wrote an email to the CEO of the company I currently work for and that lead to a $60,000 pay increase and 18-months later I was in the C-Suite and had tripled my income since being with the company for just under 3 years
  • I am the most optimistic guy you will ever meet
  • I consider myself to be very ambitious
  • Things always have a way of working out for me
  • Have I mentioned I am pretty lucky
  • I subscribe to “Fake it til you make it” because everything is learn-able. It doesn’t work for everyone.
  • I am a fitness fanatic
  • I have an obsession with finance
  • I am married to the girl of my dreams (again a very lucky man)
  • I consider myself to be an entrepreneur
  • I love helping people
  • The next move I make in my career will be as a full-time Entrepreneur


Onward & Upward.


Gen Y Finance Guy

p.s. To get a deeper understanding of my philosophy I recommend you check out my Start Here series (it’s 4 pages).